Pittie Poems…

Whether you are pro Pit Bull or not what is scary is that someday this could be the case for any breed not just the “bully” or large breeds…  Until he went onto to the Rainbow Bridge  I had a dog that had German Shepherd in his gene pool…   Sadly his breed is also on the “hit list”…  Basically it’s like with anything – people need to do more research and less judging…

A few months back I posted these poems on my facebook page after seeing them on Craig’s List…  While reading them I bawled my eyes out…  When one of them said they didn’t know what a toy was I totally lost it…  This is sooo sad and yet it’s reality all over the world…

Pitbull Poems

Poem written by a Pittbull

A scowl genetically embedded on my face, as I didn’t come from the greatest place.

I was born out of brutality and cruelty. Any act of kindness towards me would be something completely new to me.

I never win the popularity contest, as I am not liked by many. When they handed out chances, I never received any.

I always walk alone, but not by choice, I cant even plead my case, as I have no voice.

The jury is out before my trial even begins. I have become a storage facility that is full of humanity’s sins.

My friends are sentenced to death without committing a crime..The hurt and the pain that is inflicted on me is overlooked all the time.

I have been racially profiled because of my breed.. Fought to the death for other peoples greed.

I have viewed much of my life on chains, or behind bars.. You cant even see my smile, because its been hidden by scars.

You read horrific stories of all my heinous acts.. the press exploits me without knowing all the facts.

my neck has grown heavy with your weights and your chains..I have been fed nothing but torture, and i have absorbed all the pain.

my life can be compared to that of slavery.. Is this the path that society has made for me?

I am resilient by nature and I have way too much pride.. That’s why its rare to see someone like me ever cry..

what I really want is to be by your side.. I’m loyal to you forever or at least until I die

What few of you know is how emotional I can be,all I want is to be part of your family.

I am not saying that all of us are perfect or great. Humans come in both and good and bad, so you should be able to relate.

I don’t want to be beaten down any longer.. you need to make laws to protect me, much stronger.

Dont stand there and let this happen one more day.. The cruelty I am subjected to, is not OK.

I know it will take time and your schedule is full.. Why would you want to try and help me??


I’m just a pitbull.

Don’t Let Me Die
Please don’t believe what you hear.
They have made me a poster dog and instilled this fear.
I may be big, and I may be strong,
But I have done nothing wrong.
A vicious cycle, I wish I were never born,
Into the hands of a monster, now my heart’s been torn.
They threw me in the pit, I could hear the people cheer.
Blood on the walls, no fight in me…Just fear.
I am of no value now, they tossed me aside.
As I lay bleeding, I have no place to hide.
And now I am taken to a grey, scary place.
I am cut and wounded from my tail to my face.
Here I lay alone, on this cold cement floor,
Waiting for my chance, to get out the door.
I only have a day or two, before I am put to death,
A day or two more, till I breathe my last breath.
But I haven’t had the chance to show you…I’m a good boy.
I never had a treat, I never had a toy.
I am a Pit Bull, It doesn’t mean that I will bite.
It doesn’t mean I am a devil, It doesn’t mean I want to fight.
Look into my eyes once as you pass me by.
Can you really see a killer?…Come on, don’t lie.
You know you see something, A soulful sadness in my eye.
Please take me out of here, Please…don’t let me die.

Please, Return The Favor.
You mad me what I am today, courage at its best.
You wanted me to know no fear, a cut above the rest.
Not only did I master that, I’ve thrown in loyalty, too.
Look past my eyes into my soul, you know I’d die for you.
I’ll watch your kids, I’ll watch your house. Your praise will be my crown.
Ask what you will– I’ll do my best. I’ll even be your clown.
But some of you don’t like me, I’m sure I don’t know why.
The only thing I’m guilty of is courage, love and try.
But still they want to see me go, they want my breed to end.
Will I see you sitting idly by? You, whom, I call a friend?
You made me what I am today, you never saw me waiver.
I’ve done my best to keep you safe. Will you please, return the favor?

The One.
They put me in a cage, they fight me in a pit.
They say I’m a vicious, so…alone I sit.
No walks in the park, no fetching a ball,
No children to love me, so I stare at the wall.
There’s not much else to look at in a world of concrete floors.
If only a family would stop at my door, I would tell them…
“Don’t judge me by what you’ve seen on tv.
This could be my last chance, this could be the end,
Please, won’t you give me one more look, friend?”
The lady in red takes me to a room and I pray they’ve come back
But I feel the needle and all fades to black.
They say I could never be trusted, it was all for the best.
“Why even bother? He’ll never pass the test.”
Now it’s all over, all has been said and done.
But with a little love, kindness and patience…
I could have been the one.

– Authors Unknown To Me –

Leave a comment